> UOG Events home page > UOG News & Announcements home page > Back to Student Spotlights

Sessions and Abstracts

Latest News

Abstract deadline: Dec. 31, 2015

Early Registration deadline: Feb. 29, 2016
Early Registration Fee: US$200 (US$100 for students)

Late Registration: March 1 – May 5, 2016
Late Registration Fee: US$250 ($125 for students)

Contact info:

pha2016guam@gmail.com

Conveners:

  • Anne Perez Hattori, Ph.D., History and Chamorro Studies
  • James Perez Viernes, Ph.D., Chamorro Studies

Planning Committee Members:

  • Michael Clement, Ph.D., Associate Professor, History
  • Mary Cruz, Ph.D., Asst. Professor, Political Science
  • Nicholas Goetzfridt, Ph.D., Professor, Micronesian Studies
  • Sharleen Santos-Bamba, Ph.D., Associate Professor, English and Chamorro Studies
  • Elyssa Santos, B.A., History
  • Jessica Urbano, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Dean's Office
  • Velma Yamashita, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Art
  • Alden Paul Cabero, Teaching Assistant, UOG History
  • Jeff Umayam, CLASS Humanities Division

Mo'na: Our Pasts Before Us

22nd Pacific History Association Conference

May 19-21, 2016

Guam, Mariana Islands

 

PDF icon Click Here for All Abstracts

 

The Pacific History Association invites scholars to participate in the 22nd PHA Conference from May 19-21, 2016, in Guam, Mariana Islands.  PHA members include scholars doing research in the fields of history, anthropology, social sciences, literature, music, language, education, indigenous studies, cultural studies, and in other fields significant in Oceania’s history. We therefore sincerely welcome worldwide scholars interested in similar issues to participate in the conference and exchange ideas.

 

The conference theme, “Mo’na: Our Pasts Before Us,” invokes Pan-Pacific ways of negotiating the past, present, and future that blur conventional western notions of History as linear, progressive and finite. With this theme, we also seek out linkages to the Festival of Pacific Arts which Guam will host immediately following our conference.

 

Conference Registration through the conference website will commence on Sept. 15, 2015, with early registration continuing through Feb. 29, 2016.  The Early Registration fee is US$200, while Early Student Registration is US$100.  Late Registration, open from Mar. 1 – May 5, 2016, will include fees of US$250 for general registrants and US$150 for students.

 

PHA is also pleased to welcome the Symposium of the International Council for Traditional Music Study Group on Music and Dance of Oceania, a Non-Governmental Organization in formal consultative relations with UNESCO.  Those interested in presenting papers related to Oceania's music and dance traditions are invited to submit abstracts to PHA, while also contacting Brian Diettrich (brian.diettrich@vuw.ac.nz) for more information.

 

Paper abstracts may be submitted for inclusion in one of the conference's general sessions or in one of the specific panels listed below. To be considered for possible inclusion in one of these panels, please email the panel chairperson(s) directly for more information, or identify your panel preference on the Abstract Submission form. 

 

Submission for Abstracts has now Closed

 

Panel Title

Panel Chairperson(s) and Contact Information
Pacific Presences: Oceanic Art and European Museums

Julie Adams, The British Museum, JAdams@britishmuseum.org

Nicholas Thomas, University of Cambridge

Not By Food Alone: Uses and Meanings of Pacific Coconuts

Judith A. Bennett, University of Otago, judy.bennett@otago.ac.nz

Reflections on Nationalism(s) in Oceania: Global Influences and Indigenous Perspectives

David Chappell, University of Hawai`i at Mānoa, dchappel@hawaii.edu

Continuing Legacies of the Pacific War: Histories, Memories, and Rituals of Remembrance

Andrew Connelly, Australian National Univ, andrew.connelly@anu.edu.au

Matthew Kelly, Archaeological and Heritage Mgmt, MKelly@ahms.com.au

Ryota Nishino, University of the South Pacific, ryota.nishino@usp.ac.fj

Chant in Guahan and Across the Pacific

Ojeya Cruz Banks, University of Otago, ojeya.cruzbanks@otago.ac.nz

Dakota Alcantara-Camacho, dakotacamacho@gmail.com

Militatarization in the Pacific

Vicente M. Diaz, University of Minnesota, vmdiaz@umn.edu

Music and Dance of Oceania Symposium: International Council for Traditional Music

Brian Diettrich, Victoria University of Wellington, brian.diettrich@vuw.ac.nz

Trans-Pacific Movements in Mission and Church

Helen Gardner, Deakin University, helen.gardner@deakin.edu.au

Jane Samson, University of Alberta, jane.samson@ualberta.ca

The Future of the Past: Mâori History in Contemporary Reflections

Aroha Harris, University of Auckland, a.harris@auckland.ac.nz

The Pacific War, Decolonization, and Community

Devan Jensen, Brigham Young University, devan_jensen@byu.edu

Hiagi Wesley, Brigham Young University-Hawaii, hiagi.wesley@byuh.edu

Indigenous Knowledge and Contemporary Development: Experience from Taiwan

Da-wei Kuan, National Cheng-Chi University, daya@nccu.edu.tw

Navigating Marshall Islands Histories

Monica LaBriola, University of Hawai`i-West O`ahu, labriola@hawaii.edu

Neglected and Forgotten Diseases In the Pacific Islands

Jacqueline Leckie, University of Otago, jacqui.leckie@otago.ac.nz

Micronesia During Spanish Colonial Times: New Readings of Old Sources

Carlos Madrid, Instituto Cervantes de Manila, cmadridap@hotmail.com

Revitalizing Pacific Library and Archive Collections

Kylie Moloney, Pacific Manuscripts Bureau, kylie.moloney@anu.edu.au
Eleanor Kleiber, University of Hawai`i at Mānoa, ekleiber@hawaii.edu

History as 'Making the Future Now' through Pacific Video and Performance Art

Moana Nepia, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa, nepia@hawaii.edu

Uruon Chuuk: Restoring Micronesian Voices to Micronesian Histories

Gonzaga (Zag) Puas, Australian National University, zag_lewis@yahoo.com

Paul D’Arcy, Australian National University, paul.darcy@anu.edu.au

Photographing the Pacific 

Max Quanchi, University of the South Pacific, quanchi_a@usp.ac.fj

Teaching Pacific History – or, how to absorb new themes and paradigms 

Max Quanchi, University of the South Pacific, quanchi_a@usp.ac.fj

History, Independence, and the Recent Past in  Papua New Guinea

Alex Golub, University of Hawai`i at Mānoa, golub@hawaii.edu

Jonathan Ritchie, Deakin Univ, jonathan.ritchie@deakin.edu.au

Tattoo and Gender in the Pacific, Yesterday and Today

Serge Tcherkezoff, Center for Pacific Studies in France: CREDO, serge@pacific-dialogues.fr

Sebastien Galliot, CREDO, sinapati@gmail.com

Sean Mallon, Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New Zealand, seanm@tepapa.govt.nz

Indigenous Micronesian and Pacific Feminist Historiography

Teresia Teaiwa, Victoria Univ of Wellington, Teresia.Teaiwa@vuw.ac.nz

Tina Taitano DeLisle, University of Minnesota, ctdelisle@gmail.com

Vicente M. Diaz, University of Minnesota, vmdiaz@umn.edu

Afro-Diasporic Women Artists on History and Blackness in the Pacific

Teresia Teaiwa, Victoria University of Wellington, Teresia.Teaiwa@vuw.ac.nz

Ojeya Cruz Banks, University of Otago, ojeya.cruzbanks@otago.ac.nz

Alisha Lola Jones, Indiana University, jonesall@indiana.edu

Oceanic Masculinities in Island/er Pasts and Presents

James Viernes, University of Guam, james.viernes@gmail.com

Histories that Matter: The Past, Present, and Future of China in the Pacific

Terence Wesley-Smith, Univ of Hawai`i at Mānoa, twsmith@hawaii.edu

 

Moana Nepia, University of Hawai`i at Mānoa
nepia@hawaii.edu
UOG